Facebook

How to block and stop others from contacting you on Facebook

This is our easy guide to limit the impact of malicious communication through Facebook. If the behaviour is persistent and clearly unwanted causing you fear, harassment or anxiety then it is harassment and you should not have to live with it.

How to block someone on Facebook

Step 1 –  Click the “Privacy Settings” button in the top right corner. Start by logging into your Facebook account. On your home screen, look for a small icon in the top right corner that looks like a padlock next to a few lines. Click this button:

screenshot

 

Step 2 – Click “How do I stop someone from bothering me?” This will cause a new menu box to open. Here, you’ll see a brief explanation of how blocking people on Facebook works.

screenshot

 

Step 3 – Type in the name or email of the person you’d like to block. Click “Block” to continue. This won’t block the person yet — you still need to confirm your choice.
Keep in mind that some people don’t use their real name for their Facebook account. If this is true for the person who’s been bothering you, you may need to search for this person’s “joke” name or use their email address.

screenshot

 

Step 4 – Click “Block” on the next window. Once you hit the first “Block” button, a new window will pop up with a list of results that match your search. Find the person you want, then click “block” next to his or her name.
This will cause one final window to pop up. This window will explain, in detail, exactly what blocking means for your Facebook relationship with this person. Click the “Block” button here to finalize your choice. The person won’t be blocked until you finish this step.

screenshot

 

How to stop people you don’t know from contacting you:

Step 1 – Click on the icon that looks like a lock in the upper right hand corner. This will show you your “Privacy shortcuts”.

screenshot

 

Step 2 – Click on “Who can contact me?” and it will expand with more options.

screenshot

 

Step 3 – Click the drop-down menu for “Send you messages”. Choose “Strict filtering” so only your friends or people you know can send you messages

screenshot

 

Doing this should ensure communications with those you don’t want cease and stop others from sending you messages.

Images from http://www.wikihow.com